Local Help Docs Pro & Teams

Getting started with Local for Teams features

note

If you haven’t set up your Local for Teams account, check out this help doc first.

With you Local for Teams account set up, you’re ready to start using the features and this guide will walk you through each.

MagicSync

MagicSync is our deployment technology that syncs only the files that have changed since your last push or pull. This gives you visibility into file changes and greatly improves deployment (and is secure, more reliable, and faster than FTP deployment solutions).

Below is a look of MagicSync at work! Before pushing or pulling any changes, MagicSync will recognize the files where changes have been made and list those out for you to review. This saves you time by replacing only those files with change, rather than every single one.

The MagicSync Viewer has three columns to help review files before pushing or pulling a site. Those columns are:

  • Filename – this column lists all of the files tied to your site.
  • Local – the date and time of when the Local site’s file was last modified.
  • Flywheel (staging) –  shows you the date and time of when the remote site’s file was last modified.. If the field says “Will be deleted” this means that there is no file Locally, so the remote file will be deleted during the deployment.

Once you’ve confirmed the changes, simply choose the environment (staging or production) and click ‘Push to Flywheel.’


Staging deployment

With Teams, users will have the ability to push/pull to/from production and staging. As a teams customer, a new staging option appears when you choose to push or pull from a site. 

To pull a site’s staging environment to Local, simply choose the site from the list and in the site’s dashboard, click the pull icon.

Once it’s been connected to Local, you’ll be able to work locally and access everything you normally would for the site. You’ll even have access to things like WP-CLI if you want to use command line.

When you’ve finished making changes, you can push those changes back to staging on Flywheel or straight to production.


Priority support

Local for Teams also gives you priority support. If you run into any questions along the way, our support team is just a click away!

You can submit a ticket straight to Flywheel support via question mark icon in the left panel. Submitting a ticket from Local will also send along important diagnostic logs/data to help us resolve your issue faster.

Once a ticket has been submitted through Local, head to the Flywheel help dashboard to check the status and view any replies from our team. And of course, there’s always the Local Forums if you have any other questions!


User management

Local for Teams integrates directly to our Flywheel hosting dashboard – specifically our Organizations feature. This provides you with the ability to invite users to your Local for Teams account. Each person invited gets the Teams features within Local by Flywheel.

note

Local for Teams gives an Organization five “seats” that can be filled by members of the Org. This number can be increased by paying for additional seats.

The owner of the Org is the only one who can manage which members occupy those “seats” by navigating to the “Members” tab in the Organization’s dashboard.

To invite users to your Local for Teams, head to your Organization’s ‘Member’ tab in the Flywheel dashboard. The ‘Member’ tab will list all the users that are members of your Organization.

With Local for Teams enabled, you’ll notice an ‘Invite to Local Team’ button. Send an invitation to each Org member that you want to add to your Local Team.

From here, you can grant permission and set deployment roles for each user. 


User roles

As the owner of the Organization, you can set privileges for each member that is added. You’ll be able to choose whether they can deploy site changes to your staging and/or production environments.

This can be changed at any time if needed but only by the Organization’s owner.


Workspaces

Keeping your sites organized is key to managing multiple, which is why we’ve created Workspaces in Local for Teams! When users sign up, it automatically separates their personal and Team (or Organizations) sites into Workspaces, keeping private and professional projects organized.

The Workspace switcher is used to change between multiple workspaces, and is found in the upper left-hand corner of Local.

You can think of Workspaces as a way of grouping sites within Local. There are two kinds of Workspaces: personal and organization.

note

Personal workspace icons are circular and while Organization workspaces are square.

The Personal workspace is where non-”Local for Teams” sites are contained. For example, if you own or are a collaborator on a site that is NOT part of a Local for Teams Organization, it will be accessible from the Personal Workspace.

If you want to push a Personal site to a site hosted in Local for Teams Organization, you have to move the site into the Orgs Workspace. 

To learn more about Local for Teams and how it compares to Local Community or Local Pro, head to the Local pricing page.